The Disney Princess Book Tag

DISNEY PRINCESS TAG BANNER

I found this on A Wanderer’s Adventures blog and I’m already excited about it. Misfit Alexa’s blog is to thank for being the original creator but thanks to both for giving me the idea. I’m obsessed with all things Disney. As a 21 year old, there are probably more grown up things I could and should be doing but when a good Disney movie is available, whether it’d be on Netflix, on TV, or released in theatres… you can count me in. My entire childhood was filled to the brim with Disney movies and I’M DAMN PROUD. I will put listening to Disney soundtracks over listening to regular music any damn day of the week. So…. This is going to be a real treat for me.

So, with every princess, there is a prompt on what book to name. Pretty self-explanatory but definitely check both blogs I listed above for more info if necessary. LET’S BEGIN!!all_disney_princesses_plus_frozen_by_mary62442-d93a5s2.png

SNOW WHITE – NAME YOUR FAVORITE CLASSIC

One thing I upset myself over is that I am constantly reading but I’ve yet to pick up my own classic novel. I’ve read them, sure, but for school. My favourite of them all would have to be Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. It was a surprising interest for me and one that quickly grabbed my attention. The framework storytelling it holds had been new and different for me which made it even better.

CINDERELLA – NAME A BOOK THAT KEPT YOU READING WELL PAST YOUR BEDTIME
 17927395
I have so many. I’m going to just go with the first one that ever kept me up late and it was Breaking Dawn. You know who it’s by, I don’t need to tell you. What I do need to tell you is how much I appreciate this whole damn series. It did so much for me growing up and the fact that I have it to thank for my undying love for books is enough for me to be proud of holding it close to my heart. DON’T YOU DARE LIE AND SAY YOU DIDN’T FEEL THE SAME. WE ALL STAYED UP THROUGH THE NIGHT WAITING TO SEE IF EDWARD AND BELLA WOULD REUNITE IN NEW MOON. DO NOT LIE.

Also, if you say I spoiled it then I’m sorry but come on…. How is it a spoiler? WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN??

Recently though, the book that kept me up all damn night was A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas and I’d do it again.

AURORA – NAME YOUR FAVORITE CLASSIC ROMANCE

Hmm… I’m gonna have to say Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I read this for my English class in my second year of university and I loved it more than I can tell you. It was one of the best books I had to read that year and I just grew so attached to the characters and the story. I loved the movie as well and ugh it was just wonderful.

ARIEL – NAME A BOOK THAT’S ABOUT SACRIFICES AND FIGHTING FOR YOUR DREAM

25056208

….. I KNOW I’VE READ SOME BUT WHY CAN’T I THINK OF ANYMORE THAN JUST THE ONE? By the one, I’m referring to Nuts by Alice Clayton. She writes about this lovely woman who has followed her dreams of becoming a professional chef and has left her small town for something more. The story kind of goes back to her roots and how she gives up a little to help out her mom but essentially she’s still fighting for her future in the field she loves. PS if you haven’t heard of it, go look it up. It was so good!!

BELLE – NAME A BOOK WITH A SMART AND INDEPENDENT FEMALE CHARACTER

                              
Hmm…. I was thinking of Hazel from TFIOS but I’m also thinking about Margo from Paper Towns. Both are smart and independent but in different ways. Hazel was pretty book smart given how much she read in her free time. She had such intelligent answers for the big questions. Let’s all think about the whole oblivion quote we all know and love. But Margo was street smart. Even without realizing she left her marks in every place she stayed in and left behind. She did it in such a way where it left a trail that could be followed. Not to mention she runs away and is able to hold herself together relatively well for a teenager barely out of high school. Honestly, there are so many smart female characters that exist in novels, especially in YA ones – these are just two of many.

JASMINE – NAME A BOOK WITH A CHARACTER WHO CHALLENGED SOCIAL CONVENTIONS OF HIS OR HER WORLD
 

I was originally going to say Lena from Delirium. The whole premise of the novel is that love and falling in love is basically equivalent to having the plague and she ends up falling for someone. Love is a fatal thing for you to experience in their world and there is a procedure you go through in order to save yourself from being driven to madness. Honestly, wasn’t a huge fan of this book but it’s the first one I thought of when I thought of someone who challenged social conventions. However, then I got to thinking and knew that The Dark Element’s Layla Shaw would be a better example and one I liked more than the other. Layla is part gargoyle and part demon. Her whole life she was raised as a Warden and taught to hunt the part of herself she tries to ignore. Demons are seen as the evil that you’d expect, and Layla helps tag them so they can later be hunted and killed. One day she meets Roth and although she’s reluctant to trust him at first, she learns that there is a part of her she has always been taught to hate, but he makes her embrace it. Roth never makes her feel the way Zane, the one she’s grown up with, has made her feel all these years. Layla breaks through the social conventions of the Warden by associating with a demon and also tries to bring her two worlds together. The book is by Jennifer L. Armentrout, by the way. (also the books don’t match for some reason and yes it does drive me insane)

POCAHONTAS – NAME A BOOK WHOSE ENDING WAS A ROLLERCOASTER OF EMOTIONS
 15507958

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes… let me tell you right now, if you want to hate and love a book all at once then this is the one for you. I was hysterically sobbing by the end of that book and I didn’t know if I should feel content or heartbroken after everything that happened. I cannot handle how much this book destroyed me…. I’m not going to say anything more. It’s something you should experience for yourself.

MULAN – NAME A BOOK WITH A KICK-BUTT FEMALE CHARACTER

77493_original 51AB5fix3UL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

EITHER FEYRE OR CELAENA FROM SARAH J. MAAS’ BOOKS. Feyre is from A Court of Thorns and Roses and Celaena is from Throne of Glass and both are such bad ass female characters. Not only are the books in general amazing, but the characters and their development throughout each book is thrilling to watch. Both characters come from a life that is different from the one that they end up getting sucked into and you get to watch them adapt to this new life and come out on top. Please read her books.

TIANA – NAME A BOOK FEATURING A HARDWORKING, SELF-MADE CHARACTER

This was an easy choice. The Absolutely True Diary Of A Part-Time Indian was written by Sherman Alexie and was a phenomenal story about a young teenage boy named Junior, who lived on the Spokane Indian Reservation but wished to go to the “white people school” so he could be something more than just another member of the rez. He works exceptionally hard at being successful and learning everything that there is to know about the curriculum at his new school. He walks miles just to get there. Junior loses the friendships and a bit of respect from those who live on the reservation with him because they believe that he thinks he is better than him. Despite all the hardships that come with this change he has made for himself, he continues to work hard and dedicate himself to his education. He makes new friends and opens himself up to a whole new world while still trying to uphold the traditions and beliefs of his home and his people.

RAPUNZEL – NAME A BOOK THAT FEATURES AN ARTIST

This one had to go out to my girl Colleen Hoover and her wonderful book Confess. Confess is about a young woman who has lost a lot in her life recently and is looking to start over and be the girl she once was. She comes across this gallery that is open on the first Thursday of every month and is drawn to it. The paintings inside are inspired by true confessions of the artist or strangers and are each unique and beautiful. Colleen Hoover had actually found an artist to make her vision come to life, and the books have a few pictures of the paintings she describes along with the confession that inspired them. The artist actually has social media, and his Instagram is artbydoc if I remember correctly. This is a romance and a damn good one at that.

MERIDA – NAME A BOOK THAT FEATURES A MOTHER-DAUGHTER RELATIONSHIP

cvr9781476743554_9781476743554_hr

ANOTHER COLLEEN HOOVER – SURPRISE, SURPRISE. Hopeless is about a young girl named Sky who was put up for adoption at around 3 years old and has been living with the woman who adopted her since. Her and her adoptive mother have a great mother-daughter dynamic going on, despite not being related by blood. There is a larger story intertwined in their relationship that I’m not even going to hint at but it is so heart wrenching and you can’t help but love and feel for these characters. Sky meets a boy her age named Holder who is mysterious and captivating and someone that she just can’t ignore. The entire story is wonderful and I promise you’ll love it if you give it a shot.

ELSA AND ANNA – NAME A BOOK THAT FEATURES A GREAT RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN SIBLINGS

Lastly, the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I almost used this series at least three other times but I tried to make each prompt something different. I chose this series for the sibling feature because I’d just reread it and I can’t find a bunch of siblings that were as fun to follow as Daemon, Dee, and Dawson. Despite being aliens, they were so realistic in the way their relationship was laid out for the readers. They teased, loved, and frustrated one another. They also did more than they could to protect and defend each other at all costs. I just couldn’t choose siblings that were written better than these three and I didn’t want to. Daemon was almost like the head of the pack and he felt responsible for his siblings. There wasn’t any beating that.


AND THAT’S IT!

This was actually a lot of fun to do. If you want to do this then take my post as a nomination to you and go nuts! I’m interested to see what other people put down, so comment below with a link leading to your post. Don’t forget to like and follow for more tags like this and reviews!

Leave a comment